Sol Peligro literally translates to “the sun that people feel threatened by.” The band was formed in '05 and is a latin-reggae nine-piece from Sacramento who is led by founder Sam Miranda (lead vocals). The members of Sol Peligro are:

  • Curtis Blankenship (drums)
  • Ken Rego (percussion)
  • Cesar Mena (bass)
  • Todd Perez (guitar) 
  • Richard Gonzalez (trumpet) 
  • Marti Sarigul-Klijn (saxophone)
  • Tim Weiss (trumpet)
  • Will Scharff (keyboard).

They combine Mexican, Cumbia and Reggae, with a hint of Alternative-Rock and with a blaring three-piece horn section, amazing percussion and the most solid rhythm section around. The group writes their own material taking on serious issues within the Mexican, Mexican-American communities such as songs about the U.S.A, Mexican border, and about working on farms then and now in America. Of course, they have fun-loving good music but there is always a positive message. All of this helps the group to have a strong and diverse fan-base. Some of the members had previously performed with established bands such as Miranda who helped to start Raigambre an Afro-Cuban and Funk band that wrote its own material. Perez was in a band called Bongo Furys, Scharff performed with Nagual in the past and Rego is in Law of One.

“With eight to nine members communication is important,” says Miranda. Sol Peligro has diverse creativity, and a band comradere like no other and it is no wonder these nine guys have gotten through a lot together. During their time as a band, Sol Peligro has have won Best Latin Band three times for the Sacramento Area Music Awards (Sammies). In '12 Sol Peligro was inducted into the Sammies Hall Of Fame. There is only one other Latin band that has had this honor since the Sammies was founded.

Sol Peligro has made its rounds in the Sacramento festival scene as well, getting it in at the Tamale Festival, One Heart One Love Reggae Festival and Fiesta En La Calle. The group has performed with greats like Ozomatli (The Filmore, SF), Groupo Fantasma, and B Side Players (Harlows, Sacramento).

Sol Peligro's first album, “Los Gritos de Mi Pueblo,” released Sept. 05 brings a raw sound full of organic cumbia and righteous reggae. Sol Peligro plans on releasing a second album, “CalifaSoul,” winter '16 as well as a host of local festivals and events in Sacramento and surrounding regions.


Sol Peligro Band Biography, released Sept. 27, 2005 with Califa-Sol Muzik. 

To Purchase album:

Social Media:

Contact Us For Press, Booking and Album Information